It’s Okay, That’s Love

It’s Okay, That’s Love / Gwaenchanha, Sarangiya

Wow! I very much adore It’s Okay, That’s Love after watching the first two episodes! At first, I was apprehensive about watching this Korean drama, but its great cast drew me in. It has an Indie feel to it, while still giving off a slice-of-life type of feel to it. The OST they chose also is unique in the way that you would think it would not fit with the drama, but it does in its own way. In this drama, Jo In Sung plays Jae Yeol, a mystery fiction novelist/DJ who has a touch of OCD and is bit arrogant. The other half is a compassionate and sharp-witted psychiatrist Hae Soo, played by Gong Hyo Jin, who doesn’t seem to care very much about her own personal life. Both of these people seem to have deep-seated trauma in their past which very much affects their behavior in the present. I may or may not be wrong, but Jae Yeol seems to have another disorder beyond his OCD which may be linked to his traumatic past where his father was killed and his brother is now in jail.This is where Kyungsoo or D.O of EXO comes in to play a figment of his imagination (rather himself when he was younger, I think).Meanwhile, Hae Soo is deeply affected by witnessing her mother cheating on her father when she was younger.

Put these two together in the same house and add another psychiatrist sunbae with his Tourettes affected patient (played by Kwangsoo, rather Soo Kwang in the drama, haha), we have ourselves a chaos soup as everyone steps on everyone else’s toes, literally!

As rom-commy as this drama may seem, I like it for the reason that if focuses on portraying patients with psychiatric problems in another light instead of stigmatizing them. Often in our times, we stereotype people who have mental disorders and “avoid” them. They are seen as “crazy” and should be hidden away from public view. Or we think that they are just not “strong” enough to overcome their own minds. We think of patients that we need to help only have physical wounds, but sometimes the mental ones scar even deeper. Coming from a nursing perspective and having had a rotation on the psychiatric floors where I was able to talk and interact with patients every week totally changed my outlook.

These are normal people who if I didn’t see them on the unit, I wouldn’t have known that they had these traumatic pasts. I think psychiatric patients are often one of the strongest people who are working hard to overcome what society and life has thrown in their face. That is why I appreciate how this drama is throwing light upon the psychiatric patient population and helping the public understand another perspective.

I especially thought this one quote from a psychiatrist who was receiving his own counseling really rang true, “That’s right, I, a person who treats those who have hurtful hearts, had a heart that hurt, so I received some counseling. What are you going to do about it? You surgeons, do you not get cancer because you cure cancer? And you, internal medicine doctors, do you not get colds because you cure patients of colds?” We never know if someone is suffering, especially if we can’t always see it on the outside.

-phoenix

4 thoughts on “It’s Okay, That’s Love

  1. I also enjoyed the first 2 episodes. I hope it stays “light” throughout the show. I’m pretty sure it’ll go dark at one point but I hope it picks up very quick because I can’t stand anyone drama that drags…. I have high hopes for this drama because of the two main leads. So be good!!!

Leave a Reply

