The Abnormal Summit (비정상회담)

2014-08-28 23.27.43

The Abnormal Summit is a talk show by the Korean channel JTBC. It is hosted as a sort of conference where representatives of different countries share their opinions on controversial topics. There are three hosts – and a guest in each episode. The guest is the person presenting the problem. It could be his or her problem, but it can also be sent in by someone else.

I have seen six episodes so far and I like what I’ve seen so far. It’s a little different than any other Korean variety or talk show I have seen.

Main Cast

I didn’t introduce the hosts because I think the focus of the show is on different cultures, traditions, and opinions therefore on the foreigners :-D.

Daniel (Australia)

2014-08-28 23.27.08

His tattoos are so good looking. I have seen him in several modeling pictures. Is he a model?

Julian (Belgium)

2014-08-29 00.11.45

Talkative

Guillaume (Canada)

2014-08-29 00.12.54

The one who would do anything to eat beef

Zhang Yuan (China)

2014-08-28 23.32.04

One thing that you shouldn’t miss: His dance moves in episode 5 0r 6. It was hilarious.

Robin (France)

2014-08-29 00.12.16

Sam (Ghana)

2014-08-28 23.29.16

How funny and cute is Sam?

Daniel (Germany)

2014-08-28 23.34.48

Alberto (Italy)

2014-08-28 16.06.26

Mr. Romance: he’s so smooth. When he talks about his wife, it makes you want to get married tomorrow morning 😀

Takuya (Japan)

2014-08-28 23.30.50

He is so reserved…

Enes (Turkey)

2014-08-28 23.35.48

So many proverbs from Turkey lol

Tyler (United States)

2014-08-29 00.10.58

Should I just call him Professor Tyler? He is such a nerd 😀

The hosts

2014-08-28 23.37.48

Jun Hyun Moo, Yoo Se Yoon, Sung Sik Yung

Diversity

More than 10 nations are represented and I believe that having a representative for each country allows viewers to get different perspectives. Ultimately, there is not a right or wrong way to think. I feel like at the end of each episode we get to have a moderate outlook on the topic discussed.

Bromance

Some of the cast members have been growing closer and closer. It creates a lot of bickering, cuteness, and bromance. So far, my favorite pair is Enes-Sam. They both have a great sense of humor and know how to mimick each other. I have to say that Enes is strong minded and Sam is one of the few that helps dissipate the tension.

It seems that the cast members also spend a lot of time together outside of the studio. Some of the members even had a photoshoot in Grazia. The pictures are all over the Internet so you should check them out if you are interested!

Sensitive topics

I felt like all the topics tackled were sensitive and something that not all Koran talk shows would have on their agendas. The two debates that left a strong impression on me were the ones about sexual education (When should parents teach their children about sex? Is it something that should be thought in school? What if you catch your child experimenting with his own body *cough cough masturbating*) and cohabitation (How detrimental is it for a woman’s reputation?). I love hearing the personal stories and the traditions influencing each opinion.

Length

The show is a little bit long. It’s not that bad, but it could get boring pretty quick if the topic isn’t that interesting.

The reserved ones

Some representatives are less talkative than others, especially Takuya. I feel like I’ve learned a lot about others, but I still know so little about him. I could probably Google him since he is a Kpop artist, but I want to hear his opinions in the debates! I am sure he has a lot to share and it would be great if he could open up a little more.

I have to say that along with Running Man this is one of the non-drama Korean shows that I actively follow 🙂

~ maniac Ride

One thought on “The Abnormal Summit (비정상회담)

Leave a Reply

