Year in Review: Trendsetting, Come On and Jump on the Bandwagon!

We all know that when we watch Korean Dramas, we’ll often find certain tropes used over and over again. You know what I am talking about! For example, the cold chaebol who has a traumatic past but is really actually sensitive falls in love with poverty stricken, multiple job working, happy, but not so smart Candy? For formulas that have generated much success in the past, of course it’s going to be recycled again and again! The same goes for entire dramas! Once one drama has generated a following and experiences sky high ratings, you can be sure there will be 2-3 dramas following it in the same category! Let’s take a look throughout the drama years of 2009-2014!

2009

F4 Style – Male Harem

  • Boys Over Flowers
  • You’re Beautiful
  • Sungkyunkwan Scandal

2010

 This is Not My House, But I’m Gonna Live Here Anyways

  • Cinderella’s Sister
  • Personal Preference
  • Mischievous Kiss
  • Creating Destiny
  • Stars Falling From the Sky
  • Oh! My Lady
  • My Girlfriend is a Gumiho

2011

 Let’s Pretend to be Something I’m Not

  • Baby Faced Beauty
  • Myung-wol The Spy
  • Miss Ripley
  • My Princess

I’m a MAN, Not Really, Just a Kidlet. Here Me Roar..I Mean Squeak

  • Greatest Love
  • Protect the Boss
  • Secret Garden
  • Flower Boy Ramyun Shop

2012

 Time To go to High School!

  • Dream High 2
  • School 2013
  • To the Beautiful You
  • Shut Up Flower Boy Band
  • Reply 1997

I Am Not Who I Say I Am…Shhh

  • The Equator Man
  • Bridal Mask
  • I Miss You
  • Ghost
  • Shark

 Let’s Go Back in Time..or No, You Come Forward…Wait?

  • Faith
  • Rooftop Prince
  • Queen Inhyun’s Man

2013

Genius Doctors, I Can Save You With My Bare Hands and a Toothpick

  • Good Doctor
  • Medical Top Team
  • Doctor Stranger

Use me, Use me, I Ain’t Your Average Groupie! Power-hungry Femme Fatales

  • Innocent Man
  • Yawang
  • Jang Ok Jung, Living in Love

I Hear All Kinds of Voices

  • I Hear Your Voice
  • Master’s Sun
  • You Who Came From the Stars
  • Who Are You?
  • It’s Okay, That’s Love

2014

On My Honor as a Reporter, Honestly…Hiccup!

  • Healer
  • Pinnochio

It’s Makeover Time….I Am Actually a Hottie!

  • Miss Korea
  • Cunning Single Lady
  • Birth of a Beauty

The King and I, no The President and I, no no, The Prime Minister and I

  • Prime Minister & I
  • The Empress
  • 3 Days

Too Many Serial Killers Running Afoot

  • Gap Dong
  • Dr. Frost
  • Bad Guys

 He is Guilty, I Tell You! Prosecution Team Has Spoken

  • Punch
  • Pride and Prejudice

 I Really Really Love You…HATE, I Mean HATE. Freudian Slips

  • Emergency Couple
  • Marriage, Not Dating
  • Discovery of Love

The Scarlet Letters!

  • One Warm Word
  • Temptation
  • Secret Love Affair

-phoenix

3 thoughts on “Year in Review: Trendsetting, Come On and Jump on the Bandwagon!

  1. i am curious about myung-wol the spy, is it worth to watch?? hmmm… its always worth for eric, but if the storyline is too trashy.. i don’t know how long its gonna takes for me to finish it. btw.. i really like this post 😀 instead of watching the drama by checking the ‘theme’, i usually watch dramas by following the scriptwriters; hong sisters (master sun), hong sisters 2 (king2heart), scriptwriter who wrote ‘i need romance’ series, reply series team, writer who wrote ‘gentlemen dignity’. usually their works are not disappointing. 🙂

    • Hmm I admit the beginning of myungwol was pretty good, and eric always is a joy to watch. however, the fresh and snappy feeling of the drama definitely died down after episode 10.

      I tend to watch a variety of different types of dramas. sometimes i worry though if i have high expectations of a certain writer(s) and if they will meet it. (phoenix)

Leave a Reply

