Frozen vs. Hot and Steamy

Luckily, gone are the days (well, somewhat) where the camera received more action than the kissing couple on screen. Oh yes, you know what we are talking about. We’re sure you all remember the days where our lip-locked couple are completely frozen, literally locked together, while the camera pans and spins away around them. Or the times you check the minutes of the drama because you think the drama is buffering because nothing is happening. But then, there are those rare moments where we witness a heartbreakingly beautiful kiss, the kind where we secretly dream of experiencing. These are the kiss we dream of or become the stuff of nightmares! Let’s take a look at the worst kisses and best kisses of Korean dramas!

phoenix’s picks

HOT AND STEAMY

Marriage, Not Dating: Can I just say that Han Groo and Yeon Woo-jin definitely have some crackling chemistry and smoldering kisses between them? One of my favorites was in the episode where Han Groo initiates the mind-blowing kiss that spurs Yeon Woo-jin to deliver a swoon-worthy make-out session, forgetting that they have an audience. We also got some yummy smoochies when they were hiding by their car.

It’s Okay, That’s Love: Nice smooches between Gong Hyo-Jin and Jo In-Sung. Jo In-Sung is very intense when he kisses, taking full control of it. We have smoochies by the waterfall and a epic smooch by the beach, while trying to condition Gong Hyo-Jin to accept affectionate touches without feeling bothered by them. We also got smattered smooching between the two throughout the whole drama that are so sweet that they give me cavities, I swear.

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 5.18.55 PM

Secret: Mmmmm, although I’m not really a fan of forced kisses, especially when Ji Sung sprung one on Hwang Jung-Eum, the kiss at the end of the drama made up for everything. Everything in the beginning of the drama screamed hate, violence, and angst. However, the beautiful and amazing kiss at the end blew my mind with it’s joy and acceptance. It was like having a mini-catharsis just by watching that one lip-lock.

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 5.21.38 PM

Flower Boy Ramyun Shop: MMMMMM, such yummy kisses here between Jung Il-woo and Lee Chung-ah. We have spicy kimchi kisses and we have a mindblowing, fangirl swoon-inducing make out session by one youngin’s motorbike. Jung Il-woo sure knows to work those lips!

FROZEN

Heirs: Ermergerd, I cringed when Lee Min Ho kisses Park Shin-Hye. There was no chemistry and the kiss actually repulsed me. Park Shin-Hye looked like a deer caught in headlights and Lee Min Ho is trying to do all the work with no response. EEEK. Unfortunately, the camera zooms in and all I can see is Park Shin-Hye’s distressed face every time they touch lips.

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 4.42.04 PM

Heartstrings: I’m sorry Park Shin-Hye, I hope in Pinnochio, you will have progressed into a more advanced level of kissing. However, yet, you have the made the list of stiff kisses again with Jung Yong-Hwa of CN Blue. You have the got stiff as a board with wide open eyes and pursed lips of fear kiss down pat. I guess you just really don’t like kisses, or maybe its just that these men don’t do it for you?

Boys Over Flowers: I’m pretty sure we all know this one where Gu Hye Sun and Lee Min Ho do some lip pressy things while the camera spins around for an all around romantic moment. No. What are you guys in, elementary school? It really must not be comfortable to have your lips pressed to each other for minutes on end, just frozen. What if one of them got a itch on their face? Or a face cramp from holding that position too long? Just a few things I’m thinking while waiting for the kiss to end.

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 5.07.16 PM

maniac Ride’s ride picks

FROZEN

I don’t remember that many frozen kisses. There were certainly a lot, but I prefer to ERASE them from my memory. I also think phoenix perfectly covered the worst ones :-D.

There is a special case I want to mention though: Cubic with Bomb and Mint. There wasn’t a single kiss and I have to say that I prefer it that way! Those two had no chemistry whatsoever. Bomb needs to considerably improve and he had a hard time portraying his character. Mint was amazing; she basically carried the drama on her shoulder. I wouldn’t want her to waste her lips. Hopefully she’ll save it for another drama with a better actor.

HOT AND STEAMY

Queen In Hyun’s Man: Yoo In Na and Ji Hyun Woo had an amazing chemistry. Proof: They even dated after the drama. Let’s start with the time when Hee Jin lies to Bung Do; our Joseon man didn’t know how modern Koreans greet each other. Drawn to his sexy lips, Hee Jin tells him that they greet by kissing each other on the lips. She then steals a kiss from him. I thought that was sooo cute! Beware though! Our main couple also does passionate kisses. My two favorites: the car kiss and the one where Hee Jin steps on Bung Do’s feet.

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 4.58.56 PM

The Princess’ Man: This has to be one of my favorites drama. It definitely marked the beginning of my Moon Chae Won fan days. The kisses between Se Ryung and Seung Yoo are simple but tell all about their chemistry. I like the fact that they kept it simple. Sometimes, dramas tend to make you hopeful for the kisses and when the kisses are lame you end up being more than disappointed. Cough, cough: HEIRS! There is a back kiss in this drama, toward the end, and that was one of the most romantic kisses I have ever seen in DramaLand. Although their lips don’t touch, Seung Yoo intensely kissing Se Ryung’s back got me squealing.

Lie to Me: If you haven’t heard of the Cola kiss, you need to watch this! I am sure you’ll understand why everyone raves about the Cola kiss between Ki Joon and Ah Jung. I have watched this a long time ago, but I perfectly remember the scene. To be honest, this drama wasn’t that good and the kisses are the only redeeming quality of the show. Might as well check them out!

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 4.49.17 PM

Scent of a Woman: This drama is perfect in my eyes and I don’t say that lightly. The music, the acting, the plot, and the kisses make it perfect in my eyes.

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 5.25.48 PM

9 thoughts on “Frozen vs. Hot and Steamy

  1. one of my fav. kiss that is not mention in this post is from reply 1997, i keep on press on backward key to replay the scenes. i really like seoinguk’s kiss scenes (reply n highschool king). he really know how to make the kiss scene looks nice 🙂

    and i think kiss scene from goong deserve to be mention too 🙂

    ps: i like quick smooching too, its cute.. but frozen kiss is just boring frozen screen -_-

  2. As much as this drama wasn’t the best… I still like the kisses in there. Love Rain starring Jang Keun-suk and Yoona. Especially the one where they sat by the fountain and he warned her before kissing her.

  3. Here’s one more for your hot and steamy…the make out session between shin mi rae (kim sun ah) and jo gook (cha seung won) in his car. And in regards to that BOF frozen kiss scene, it was the fault of the director. I remembered seeing a behind the scene clip of that kiss and the director was going cut to remind Lee Min Ho to keep his lips closed. If that dumb director never said anything, that would’ve been a nice and steamy kiss.

      • Because he wasn’t keeping it chaste. He got NG’d for opening and moving his lips during the scene. Personally, if I was the director I wouldn’t have stopped him because it was looking like the makings of a really good and steamy kiss.

  4. Oh yes… I love all the kisses in Healer. The best one by far is the one where they both kissed in front of her dad/uncle. Steaming HOT!!!! I just love how he just can’t get enough of her and she doesn’t mind having him around.

Leave a Reply

