Roy Leh Sanae Rai (2015): Compare/Contrast

RLSR

The remake of Tik and Aom’s Roy Leh Sanae Rai is finally out! And oh yes, I am enjoying it. For those who aren’t familiar with the Tik-Aom version, let me give you a quick run down.

Kongpope gets back from abroad for his father’s funeral. Yes, another pra’ek that HAS to study in the U.S… Like it’s the only country in the world. Anyhow after the funeral TADADA it’s the opening of the will. Kong realizes that his father gave some of his wealth – 500 million baht (~ $15 million) – to a person called Namnueng. Who’s that?! Why is she receiving so much money?

Turns out that Kong’s father swindled his business partner – Neung’s father. Kong’s father and Neung’s father both fell for Neung’s mother, but she ultimately choose Neung’s dad, making Kong’s dad furious and vowing to take revenge. While one gets richer and richer, the other gets poorer and poorer. Did anyone notice that Kong’s father is played by Kawee’s father in Sawan Biang? It’s always the same actor causing trouble for everyone!  I wonder if he gets tired of always creating a mess in Lakorn Land…😅

Screen Shot 2015-07-01 at 10.07.19 PM

Anyway, Kong doesn’t know the part about his dad cheating his partner and he doesn’t care.  All he cares about is to get his money back. He sets on a quest to seduce Nueng, have her marry him and combine their fortune.

Nueng is unaware of Kong’s plan. She is surprised to see the rich and handsome Kong showing interest for her. Despite warning from her mother, she starts falling for him.

Things are more complicated since Kong’s family business is a lounge called Harem with several of the female dancers wanting to gain Kong’s attention and money. If that isn’t enough, let’s throw in there Fah, a young hi-so that Kong’s Aunt Rattana wants to set up with her nephew…

Kong isn’t the only one in high demand. Neung’s friend Thor has hopes of getting with her. For the longest time ever, he had dreams of saving money and proposing to her. What’s up with all those people abhorring feelings for years and remaining silent?! Thor, please don’t act all surprised when Kong sweeps Neung off her feet. I won’t feel sad for you. You should have made a move a while ago.

The joke is actually on Kong because he starts falling for Neung, but he is so deep in his plans to trick her that he doesn’t notice his feelings until it’s too late.

The plot for both dramas is essentially the same. The 2015 production is just more up to date in terms of fashion, music, and directing.

Push and Lilly are so cute together as well. I feel like new lakorn products emphasize cute scenes between the main leads. I guess they know that’s what viewers care about… LOL

Screen Shot 2015-07-01 at 10.11.44 PM

Yet, I have to say that the Tik and Aom version remains a win for me and I am not the only one feeling that way.

Several reasons…

I think it’s OK to compare Aom and Lilly’s acting, but harder to do the same for Tik and Push. I love both, but Tik was the perfect Kong in my eyes. I could see him falling for Neung even before he realized it himself. When Kong has a change of heart and confesses, I was convinced. I don’t really see Push’s Kong falling for Neung so when he says “I love you” to Neung, I was feeling like wait wait wait when did this happen? Did I miss something?!

THE scene: When Neung discovers that Kong tricked her… That’s the height of the show. It’s intense. So many emotions are involved and all the lies are revealed. Aom’s portrayal of that scene gave me goosebumps. I remember having tears in my eyes not only the first time I watched it but also after the third and fourth time. Lilly’s acting was good but not comparable. I could feel Aom’s Neung pain. Her tears were so real. She expressed so many emotions at the same time: pain, anger, hate.

Screen Shot 2015-07-01 at 9.57.41 PM

With Lilly, I could see some weakness, leaving me with a lot of doubts. Ok, she is sad but the anger and the hate weren’t there so much.

Screen Shot 2015-07-01 at 10.01.49 PM

The side characters that don’t add anything to the 2015 version: Aunt Rattana and Fah. I am sorry but why are they even in this version? So useless. In the 2002 version, they had more spunk. Here they are just screaming continuously. Makes my head hurt… If they aren’t going to be vicious and play their roles properly, they should go home.

Screen Shot 2015-07-01 at 10.10.29 PM

Can I say that I like the 2015 version of Thor much better. He is still pushy and reckless, but I find him more likeable here. I am just confused about the feelings Neung’s BFF Yim has for Thor. Was Yim into him in the 2002 version? I skipped some parts so I would love to be enlightened.

Looking forward to see the director add something NEW. So far, the two versions have been the same. I want them to bring something mind blowing. It might not be in terms of acting so maybe in terms of plot? I have to say that the 2002 version was weak in terms of ending. Some loose ends weren’t tied. I wanted to see Kong and Neung’s mother heal their relationship. It would be hard for her to trust Kong, and I wanted to see him being forgiven. Also seeing more than a reconciliation scene would have been nice. Maybe an ending where we see Kong and Neung’s new life together. Plus, putting an end to the craziness for the Harem girls would have been nice. I think they owe Neung some respect as Kong’s wife so them learning their place wouldn’t hurt.

Screen Shot 2015-07-01 at 10.08.05 PM Screen Shot 2015-07-01 at 10.07.52 PM

P.S: I have been happily binging on Push’s lakorns lately. This might not be his best, but it’s likeable and the others are way much better. Check my posts on Ugly Duckling: Perfect Match ~

~ maniac Ride

10 thoughts on “Roy Leh Sanae Rai (2015): Compare/Contrast

  1. I’m waiting for more episodes on eng subs so far I’m only on episodes 3. Where are you watching this with subs or do you understand Thai?

    So far it’s exactly the same and I do enjoy this lakorn just not as much as Aom/Tik. I do love Push but you are right this one isn’t his best… he intends to play goofy and nice characters so for him to play a mean character, I’m sure it’s challenging. So far, he’s good. Better than some newbies. As for Lily, she’s cute but that’s all I can say about her. Her acting is so so. BUT…. I’ve only seen 2 episodes.

    I will have to come back and let you know what I really think about this lakorn when I’m done.

    • I have watched up to episode 3 as well with english subs. I then went to One HD YouTube channel to see the new episodes without subs :-D. I was so impatient. Having watched the 2002 version helps. Plus watching so many lakorns, I usually get the main points. Please let me know what you think about the show as you watch it ~

      • I haven’t got the chance to actually sit down and watch any of the episodes. I did take a peek at the last 5 mins of the last episode a few days ago. I’m thinking, how did the old version ended? (I didn’t bother to go research) I read a few mix reviews on this new ones. Some loved it, some hated it, and some thinks it was okay. It’s all about the actors/actresses. I’m used to Lily’s voice after 2 episodes so……. hopefully by the time someone subs it, I won’t be back to square one of trying to get use to her voice again.

        Newbies!!! what can you say about them. They never have it on the 1st drama so I think newbies should be given a few tries before we judge them. Awwh. As of right now, Lily is just a beautiful face and a beautiful crying actresses. Oh I do have to admit, she can be a bit mean but it comes off a bit annoying. Push a cute but… for some reason, I feel that he’s not very good at “mean” character. he’s more lay back and calm. Hope to see more of them though.

  2. the remake is nowhere close to the original. the original is a classic with great music and acting. the remake lacks charm , and Push is too much of a pretty boy for my liking , tik was way manlier .Also, the chemistry between aom and tik was worth drooling over.

  3. I watched the remake for the first time and sorry to say, but aom&tik’s version was way much better! Still can’t get over Tik’s charm and sneaky love scene.

  4. I agree, 1st version is a big win. It had better sound effect, music, chemistry, and acting. Aom’s was a much better Neung than Lily. Lily is a bit weak and cry a lot. But Aom is stronger in character and brings out the anger of Neung. It’s true that Tik looks more manly than Push. Both main leads are still cute looking couples. There’s a lot more kissing/cuteness to the new version.

    I still listen to version 1 music video; it’s such a sad and good song.

  5. I wonder if the producers would be interested on making a sequel of this drama of their life after they were reunited and reconciled with the original Tik and Aom’s casts. That would be awesome!!!

  6. i wonder if the producers would be interested on making a sequel of this drama continuing on the story of kong and neung after they reconciled with the original 2002 tik and aom’s casts. that will surely be awesome! really looking forward of watching these two leads act in a drama together again. especially when i watched them in luerd kattiya years ago.

  7. Great comparison review! Sharp and funny comments! Really enjoyed your observations. I had seen the latest one and now am really looking forward to seeing the first one with Tik and Aom! I loved Tik in Wanida! Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

