Twenty Again – Rekindled

f1db59f221

Twenty Again

College can sometimes be a person’s most exciting part of life before they are sucked in the adult working world. Not only are you at the peak of your life, but whatever you do for the next four years will change your life entirely. These days, in the U.S., getting a degree is almost the bare minimum to survive in society. However privileged as American citizens are, we must remember this is not an opportunity many people in other countries get to enjoy. In Twenty Again, Ha No-Ra is a housewife who wishes to go to college, a chance she never got to take. Before turning twenty, she had accidentally gotten pregnant and was not able to even finish her high school degree.

Fast-forward 18 years, she is in an unhappy marriage as her husband who is a literature professor at a university looks down upon her intellect. Unfortunately, a once feisty No-Ra has become a doormat in her family as she is looked down upon for being “common”. What starts out as a mission to get her husband to renegade on his decision for divorce by going to college to become smarter later becomes a mission to better experience life for herself. At this critical point of her life, she is mistakenly diagnosed with pancreatic cancer during a hospital physical due to similar chart records with another patient. Believing she only has 6 months left to live, she wants to experience it to the fullest. Thus, she starts to attend university secretly, without her husband or son knowing because they happened to attend and work at the same one! Meanwhile, her husband is cheating on her with another professor who specializes in “marriage classes”, har har. The irony. No-Ra also meets a childhood friend who has now become a theater professor at the university she is now attending. Said friend used to have a huge crush on her and is still pining away for her. He uses this chance to childishly get back at her for going off with another man.

While I am not particularly drawn in by the actors or the plot, I am not going to write the drama off yet. This is my first romantic comedy in a long time and I do sense a spark of interest. I am actually curious to see the dynamics between No-Ra and her past high school crush. Hyun-Seok, the crush, seems like he will toughen up No-Ra and be her new support. They have that burning chemistry and bicker that I like. Plus, I want to see No-Ra become fierce again and give back as good as she got. Of course, I also definitely want to see her ex-husband put down, smeared on the floor, and wanting her back (even though he can’t have her) for being a cheat and arrogant SOB. With just two episodes in, I am going to continue a few more at least before committing to the full-length!

EDIT: I am now 6 episodes in, and I AM IN LOVE! My first romcom in a long time and one I didn’t expect to like!

3 thoughts on “Twenty Again – Rekindled

  1. I just got done reading good things about this drama on DramaFever. I’m on the same boat as you, that I have not picked up a romantic comedy for a long time. Since You Are From Another Star….. a very long time….. I guess, I will have to pick this up once I’m all caught up on Yong Pal.

    • OH yes, it is a great one to pick up. It starts off a little slow, but it gets SO MUCH more adorable and squee worthy. I really enjoy it! It’s funny, sweet, and tugs at your heartstrings.

  2. I love this drama so much 😀
    Until the recent episode, all is just great.
    The actors. the actresses, the plot, etc.

    The story maybe a little bit different from the others drama, but thats just make the drama more interesting. I called it something fresh, watch this one always make me laugh 🙂

Leave a Reply

