I Have a Lover: The Grass Isn’t Greener on the Other Side

I_Have_a_Lover-p1

This drama is not on my top watch list. As a matter of fact I’ve been skip-watching it: I press fast forward in the blink of an eye. Yet, I do appreciate the lesson that this drama carries.

Hae Kang is a lawyer who is always killing it in the courtroom. Losing a case? Humm, it’s rare for her. She’ll go really far to make sure she wins. But her success as a lawyer doesn’t quite reflect her marital life. Hae Kang and her husband Jin Eon have been going through a rough patch for quite a while. Jin Eon blames Hae Kang for putting her career above all, not caring enough about their marriage. The couple has experienced the loss of a child and Hae Kang primarily focusing on her career might be the result. Despite all, Hae Kang deeply cares for her husband. Yes, she hasn’t shown it as much as she could or should but she does.

Ahhh instead of understanding her, going to a counselor, trying to solve the problem, Jin Eon goes and has an affair. Great, isn’t that the best solution? Jin Eon, who is a professor, starts meeting one of his students. The student, Seol Ri, knows that he is married but doesn’t care much. Let’s make it short: Jin Eon continues his affair and then asks for a divorce. Hae Kang refuses at first but then let it go. Soon after, Hae Kang loses her memory after an accident/murder attempt. When she wakes up, she starts living as Yong Ki – her twin sister (I’ll keep calling her Hae Kang in this post).

Fast forward several years later, Seol Ri and Jin Eon are still together and unhappy. I am not surprised at all. Meanwhile Hae Kang is now in a relationship with Seol Ri’s brother Baek Suk. It’s only a matter of time before the four start rubbing shoulders with each other.

Jin Eon still has lingering feelings. Actually, it’s even more than lingering. He just never forgot his wife. Hae Kang is still weighing on his relationship with Seol Ri despite him not seeing her. Imagine how he feels when he actually sees her again…

Seol Ri is desperately clinging on Jin Eon, never missing a chance to remind him of how happy her brother and Yong Ki are. Does she actually think Jin Eon gives it a rats ass? He cheated on Hae Kang what could prevent him from trying to break Baek Suk and Hae Kang apart? Not much in my opinion. Those two characters are a constant reminder that the grass isn’t always greener on the other side. As people, we spend so much time contemplating how different our situation would be if…., if…, if…, etc. I am guilty of this as well. Seol Ri saw how much Jin Eon loved Hae Kang. That might be one of the things that attracted her in the first place. But did she forget that she is not Hae Kang? Seol Ri envisioned the potential happiness that she could have with Jin Eon. What situation is she in now? Clinging into him, constantly trying to make him forget Hae Kang and not getting any respect from his family.

Then about Jin Eon. The situation with his wife wasn’t great but he could have done more to make things work out. I can imagine that it’s not easy but he tried to take the easy way out. He thought that dumping Hae Kang and being with Seol Ri was the best way out. Well, he got it all wrong. Jin Eon and Seol Ri both needed to make things work out with what they already had, not try to seek a potential happiness.

The two people I feel bad for are Baek Suk and Hae Kang. What happens when she remembers everything? And I am sure she will because that’s how things usually work out in DramaLand. Will she dump Baek Suk? Nooooo, please! How will Baek Suk feel? I also want to add that her relationship with Baek Suk is hindered by her memory loss. She feels like something he’s missing which prevents her to give her all to Baek Suk.

I will probably continue to skip watch as I want to know how the story will end…

~ maniac Ride

9 thoughts on “I Have a Lover: The Grass Isn’t Greener on the Other Side

  1. Pingback: I HAVE A LOVER. SBS. | IKurate

    • You know….. I think I’m going to watch it from the beginning without skipping it because right now, his love for his wife is so deep.. I want to know where (how) did he decide to f’ked up and hated her so much to the point where he begged his father to finalize the divorce.

      I’m supposed to hate this guy but.. the latest episode, I just love him so much. Watching him love his wife all over again… the tears, happiness, the feelings….. I’m so heart broken by his love for her.

  2. Wow !!! I Must be the only one who is in love with this serie, you focus only in ji eon and Seol ri, Hae kang wanted to be successful and please ji eon family too much, but it’s doesn’t excuse what ji own did.
    But Seol ri oppa see Hae kang don’t love him but use the fact she don’t know anybody and depends of him to make her owns.
    He don’t share blood with her sister but they behave same in their love life when they hide the true they know from their loved one, but it’s strange cause he said Yong gi is his first love but I wonder what kind of love it’s, when you don’t see the difference between the oldest and the newest even if physical they are the same the feeling and manner are very different.

    • I see what you mean and I have to agree that Baek Suk is using Hae Kang’s memory loss to his advantage. Yet, I would still prefer her to stay with him. He couldn’t never hurt her like her own husband did. And because they had been married for so long Jin Eon’s betrayal is even worst in my eyes.

Leave a Reply

