When a Man Loves a Woman

13051708_1092607350799653_6622372789055907341_n

Wat is a prominent professional with almost everything: A great career as a doctor, the looks, and even the money if it wasn’t for his mother’s debts. Well at least, his mother countless money issues serve a clear purpose plot-wise.It is the debts that lead to Wat’s relationship with the female lead Nuth. Can’t really complain about that can we?

The families of Wat and Nuth arrange for the two to get married in order to solve two issues.

screen-shot-2016-12-17-at-1-44-03-pm

First, Wat will have two years to slowly repay the debt. Second, Nuth will be able to protect her reputation. Well, you see the thing is that Nuth’s uncle, Chayakorn, is in love with her. Are you weirded out? Don’t worry, I was too. Because Chayakorn is not sure he is related by blood to Nuth and that he was adopted, he relentlessly pursues Nuth.

Screen Shot 2016-12-17 at 2.07.36 PM.png

Nuth’s father sees Wat as a man that can save his daughter’s reputation and maybe along the way make her discover love and the joys of marriage. This works to some extend but there a tribulations along the way for our main couple.

screen-shot-2016-12-17-at-2-03-46-pm

Below are a few of my main thoughts on the show.

  • If you think the uncle being in love with his niece is enough crazy for one show, you have to sit tight. How could a lakorn be juicy without a good (meaning crazy) nang’rai? Nuth’s arch enemy Som, also the ex-girlfriend of Chayakorn, falls for Wat and she is willing to do ANYTHING to get him. From faking a suicide to a racy choreography at Nuth and Wat’s wedding, Soam has no qualms whatsoever. Shameless much.
  • There is a lot of prejudice for Nuth to overcome in order to make her marriage with Wat work. Sometimes, Nuth is quick to jump to conclusions without even giving her husband the chance to explain himself. I understand that because of Wat’s family debt, it’s understandable why she sees him as money hungry but still… Nuth’s character reminded me a lot of Thae in Raeng Pradtanah because of how stubborn both characters are (they are played by the same actress). Also, the fact that they hide their own feelings by pretending to be fierce and overly confident.
  • Wat needs to refrain from playing the knight in shining armor for everyone. Truthfully, he shouldn’t be too nice to other women, when he knows it could jeopardize his relationship with his wife. I am specifically talking about Som because she is on home wrecking mode at a 100%. Prepare yourself to yell at your screen if you plan on watching this lakorn. I low key was annoyed half-way by Wat’s behavior because he played too nice. As viewers, we know that Wat knows Som’s intention, why help her? Wat should have let Som be so many times…
  • That being said there are a few times when I felt bad by Som. As the show progresses, we get to see more of her life, especially her family dynamics. Som lives with her father who is quite controlling. He is quick to punish her without listening to her. There is no doubt that Som has all the material but that doesn’t provide the emotional comfort needed. Taking that into account, I think Som was always looking for love in the wrong places because it’s something she never got at home. When Som meets Som, it might be the first time she has someone who is actually genuine. Unfortunately, her love for him quickly turns into an obsession.

Screen Shot 2016-12-17 at 2.02.10 PM.png

  • Chayakorn needs to get a life. Or do a DNA test. He annoyed me until the very end and I don’t even think he deserved the ending he got. I felt like he hadn’t done enough to earn viewers’ forgiveness and he simply didn’t deserve something nice. Sigh.screen-shot-2016-12-17-at-2-09-17-pm

Additional Comments

Lastly, I am a big fan of James Ma. It all started with Ka Badin, which I started but never finished (still praying for someone to sub it). In addition, I have also watched several of Kimberly’s lakorns and her performances have been getting better and better. So having these two paired together made me extremely happy. I hope to see more of them in the future. And the OST! Check out my favorite song from this lakorn below!

5 thoughts on “When a Man Loves a Woman

  1. I couldn’t get past episode 3 or 4 because I could not STAND NUTH!! Idk why, she was always quick to jump and I understand why but GURRLLLL STAPPP, also I feel like she made it clear to her uncle even if she didn’t say anything or know anything that she wasn’t into him. I thought Wat was nice to all women because he grew up with his mom, the aunts were annoying (which is a given in lakorns) and between Nuth and Som, I felt like I understood Som character in the 3ish episodes I watched more than Nuth, like I understood that she was shameless and she understood that she was shameless, but Nuth?? She got on my nerves–I might watch again after reading this, thanks

Leave a Reply

