Always (오직 그대만)

Always

Jang Cheol Min/Jang Marcelino (So Ji Sub) is a man who makes a living off small jobs. When he takes the position of a security guard he meets Ha Jung Hwa (Han Hyo Joo), a beautiful blind woman. She used to watched TV soap operas with the previous security guard and keeps the same habit although he is not there anymore.

Slowly they get to know each other and Cheol Min can’t help falling for her although they have little in common. Despite being blind, Jung Hwa remains jovial and optimistic. Cheol Min on the other hand is quiet, reserved, and sometimes cold. His cold behavior hides a sad past.

Both start dating, but things get complicated when Cheol Min’s past catches up with him; he finds out that he is in part responsible for Jung Hwa’s blindness. His only option: find a way to give her back her sight even if that means going back to his old ways…

Comments

I have watched this drama more than 5 times and it never gets boring. So Ji Sub portrays the reformed bad boy who finds a meaning in life thanks to love. The Cheol Min-Jung Hwa pairing is one of those unexpected one, and I think them falling for each other is possible because she is blind. Jung Hwa’s blindness pushes her to see things with her heart. If she was able to see, she might not have been attracted by Cheol Min. Appearances can be deceiving and in this case her handicap helps her meet true love.

The drama also made me think about the past we all wish to leave behind. I feel like everyone has something that they are not necessarily proud of. The thing is can we just leave those things in the past or will they catch up to us?

The one thing that got me sort of confused is the first date between Cheol Min and Jung Hwa. I didn’t quite understand why he got annoyed by her. He got angry out of the blue and no matter how many times I played that scene I couldn’t understand. Is it because she is a sloppy eater? I mean she is blind, it’s not like she was doing it on purpose… Was it because of her hair? Well that hair style sucked but that was a one time thing… Is it because he realizes that her handicap can be too much for him to handle? I hope that one day I will be able to fully understand the scene lol.

The ending is sad but in an unusual way. It’s not what I expected but it makes sense. A different ending would have been unrealistic or the fruit of bad writing.

~ maniac Ride

4 thoughts on “Always (오직 그대만)

  1. I love this movie too! It’s awesome, the storyline AND the acting. As to why he got angry at their first date, I think I know the reason. When she asks him about his past, he suddenly gets mad, maybe because it’s a sore point for him. I can definitely say, he wasn’t angry about her blindness, stained clothes or hair. She asked him a question that pricked him. Later, when he apologized, he was able to talk a little about his past.

    Thanks for reminding me about this great k-movie, which I watched the first time early this year. Since then, I hunted for other So Ji Sub movies. He never disappoints!

Leave a Reply

